iLert FAQ

+ What is iLert?

iLert is an alerting software for use in IT incident management. Whenever an IT system or service experiences an issue, the software alerts the relevant point of contact through various communication channels, thereby centralizing the alerting process.

+ Is iLert a piece of monitoring software (such as Nagios)?

No. iLert is an IT alerting software and therefore not a substitute for monitoring software. iLert extends the communication capabilities of your existing monitoring systems to SMS and phone alerts, and centralizes the alerting process.

+ Which monitoring tools does iLert support?

iLert supports any monitoring tool that can send emails. Here is a selection of supported tools:

  • Nagios
  • Icinga
  • Munin
  • Monit
  • WhatsUp Gold
  • Cacti
  • HP OpenView
  • Microsoft System Center Operations Manager

+ How is the integration of iLert with my existing monitoring tools carried out?

Each alert source within iLert has its own email address (for example, nagios@example.ilertnow.com). When the monitoring system sends an email to this address, iLert immediately creates an incident and initiates the alerting process.

In addition, we make available plugins for certain monitoring systems (currently Nagios and Icinga) that enable close interoperability with iLert. For example, with Nagios, this enables the handling of not just PROBLEM events but also RECOVERY and ACKNOWLEDGEMENT events. This means that whenever an incident is taken on or fixed by Nagios, this development is automatically reflected in iLert.

+ I don't want to be notified of every single alert in my monitoring system. Does iLert have some sort of filtering mechanism?

Yes, iLert has filtering mechanisms. For each individual alarm source, it is possible to define which alerts should be ignored, or which should be bundled into a common incident. For example, alerts can be automatically deduplicated or filtered according to specific words.

+ What communication channels does iLert support?

iLert is capable of sending alerts via email, SMS, voice messaging, and push notifications to iPhone and Android.

+ Do I need to have a phone line available in order to use iLert?

No. iLert is offered as a pure Software as a Service solution and has no specific hardware or software assumptions nor requirements. This means you do not need to have a phone line, server, or any other component in order to use the software.

+ Does iLert support issue-specific notifications and escalation?

Yes, the notification behaviour can be customized for each specific alarm cause. It is possible to define separate notification rules for each source of alarm. There is no limit to how many alarm sources can be set up.

+ Our monitoring system is already capable of sending SMS messages when issues are encountered. Does this make iLert redundant?

Merely sending SMS messages constitutes a "send and forget" strategy, and does not represent a reliable method of communication. iLert follows up on the delivery of each single message and reacts automatically when the recipient does not respond. This could be in the form of, for example, a telephone call following an unanswered email, or the forwarding of an alert to the next point of contact in the escalation chain.

+ How can I send an alert to iLert when our email server or internet connection is down?

We recommend having the email server and internet connection monitored by a separate external service. The alerts from this service can then, in turn, be forwarded to iLert.

+ What measures have been taken to ensure continuous uptime for iLert?

iLert's infrastructure is distributed across two data centers which are independent from each other and at different physical locations. All data is replicated between both centers in real-time. Each component is structurally redundant such that the failure of a single component does not jeopardize the functioning of iLert. This is also the case with our phone and SMS providers. We work with 3 providers for each communication method. We also conduct daily backups. Should you have further questions on this topic, please get in touch with us.

iLert FAQ

+ Was ist iLert?

iLert ist eine Alarmierungs- und Rufbereitschaftsmanagement-Software für das IT Störfallmanagement (Incident Management). Die Software alarmiert bei Problemen in IT-Diensten die richtigen Ansprechpartner über mehrere Kommunikationskanäle und zentralisiert den Alarmierungsprozess.

+ Ist iLert eine Monitoring-Software (wie z.B. Nagios)?

Nein, iLert ist eine Alarmierungs-Software und somit kein Ersatz für eine Monitoring-Software. iLert erweitert die Kommunikationsfähgikeiten Ihrer vorhandenen Überwachungssysteme um SMS/Telefon Alerts und zentralisiert Alerts von allen Ihren Monitoring-Tools.

+ Welche Monitoring-Tools werden von iLert unterstützt?

iLert unterstützt grundsätzlich jedes Monitoring-Tool, das E-Mails versenden kann. Für viele Monitoring-Tools bieten wir vorgefertigte Integrationen an. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in der iLert Dokumentation.

+ Wie verläuft die Integration von iLert mit meinen vorhandenen Monitoring-Tools?

Jede Alarmquelle in iLert verfügt über eine eigene E-Mail Adresse (z.B. nagios@musterfirma.ilertnow.com). Sobald Ihr Überwachungssystem eine Email an diese Adresse versendet, wird in iLert ein Incident erstellt und der Alarmierungsprozess angestoßen.

Weiterhin bieten wir Plugins für ausgewählte Monitoring-Systeme an, die eine engere Verzahnung mit iLert ermöglichen. So werden bspw. bei Nagios neben PROBLEM Events auch RECOVERY und ACKNOWLEDGEMENT Events verarbeitet. Das bedeutet, wenn ein Incident innerhalb von Nagios angenommen oder behoben wird, spiegelt dies sich automatisch in iLert wieder.

+ Ich möchte nicht für jeden Alert in meinem Monitoring-System benachrichtigt werden. Unterstützt iLert Filter-Mechanismen?

Ja, iLert unterstützt Filter Mechanismen. Sie können für jede Alarmquelle festlegen, welche Alerts ignoriert werden sollen bzw. welche Alerts in einem Incident gebündelt werden sollen. Beispielsweise können Alerts automatisch dedupliziert oder nach bestimmten Wörtern gefiltert werden.

+ Welche Kommunikationskanäle unterstützt iLert?

iLert versendet Alerts per Email, SMS, Sprachbenachrichtigung und Push Notifications auf iPhone und Android.

+ Muss ich eine Telefonleitung bereitstellen, um iLert zu nutzen?

Nein. iLert wird als eine reine Software-as-a-Service Lösung angeboten und setzt keinerlei Hard- oder Software voraus. Das bedeutet, Sie benötigen weder eine Telefonleitung, noch einen Server oder andere Komponenten.

+ Unterstützt iLert eine problem-spezifische Benachrichtigung und Eskalation?

Ja, das Benachrichtigungsverhalten kann für jede Alarmquelle einzeln eingestellt werden. Für jede Alarmquelle können individuelle Benachrichtigungsregeln festgelegt werden. Es können beliebig viele Alarmquellen angelegt werden.

+ Unsere Überwachungssysteme versenden bereits SMS bei Problemen. Ist iLert somit überflüssig?

Das bloße Versenden von SMS entspricht einer "Senden und Vergessen" Strategie und ist keine zuverlässige Kommunikationsmethode. iLert verfolgt die Auslieferung von jeder einzelnen Nachricht und reagiert automatisch, wenn ein Empfänger nicht antwortet. Dies kann z.B. ein Sprachanruf bei Nichtbeantwortung einer Email oder eine Weiterleitung an den nächsten Ansprechpartner in der Eskalationskette sein.

+ Wie kann ich einen Alert an iLert senden, wenn unser Email-Server oder unsere Internetverbindung nicht mehr funktionieren?

Wir empfehlen die Internetverbindung und den Email-Server von einem externen Dienst separat überwachen zu lassen. Diese Alerts können wiederum an iLert weitergeleitet werden.

+ Welche Maßnahmen wurden getroffen, um die Verfügbarkeit von iLert zu gewährleisten?

iLert's Infrastruktur ist über zwei Rechenzentren verteilt, die voneinander unabhängig und physikalisch getrennt sind. Alle Daten werden zwischen den beiden Standorten in Echtzeit repliziert. Jede Komponente ist redundant ausgelegt, so dass der Ausfall einer einzelnen Komponente nicht die Funktionalität von iLert beeinträchtigt. Dies betrifft auch unsere Provider für Telefon- und SMS-Benachrichtigung. Für beide Kommunikationskanäle arbeiten wir mit jeweils drei Providern zusammen. Weiterhin führen wir eine tägliche Datensicherung durch. Falls Sie hierzu weitere Fragen haben, bitten wir um Kontaktaufnahme.